3 Chargers advance to sectionals

Witt-Birn places 4th at regional

Three Wittenberg-Birnamwood High School wrestlers posted first- and second-place finishes Saturday at the WIAA Division 3 regional in Weyauwega to advance to sectionals.

Behind a first-place finish from Will Urquhart and second-place finishes from Pierson Potrykus and Allen Uttecht, the Chargers earned 147 points to place fourth in the seven-team regional, won by host Weyauwega-Fremont, which also qualified for team sectionals.

“Pleased with how we wrestled as a whole,” Witt-Birn coach Troy Ostrowski said. “Very proud of our whole team this year. Win or lose, they wrestled their hearts out.”

After placing first at the Central Wisconsin Conference tournament a week earlier, Urquhart faced familiar CWC foes in the 145-pound weight class Saturday.

After receiving a bye as the top seed, Urquhart pinned Shiocton’s Parker Moder in 2 minutes, 44 seconds to reach the final. He won the title with a tight 3-2 decision over Weyauwega-Fremont’s Logan Kicherer.

At 106 pounds, Potrykus also received a bye before qualifying for the final with a 7-2 decision over Shiocton’s Walker Hargrove. Potrykus dropped a 9-7 decision, but was awarded second by rule over Hargrove.

Uttecht took a similar path to second place at the 285-pound weight class. He opened the day with a bye before earning a 13-1 major decision over Almond-Bancroft/Pacelli’s David Trevino. He then lost a 2-0 decision to Weyauwega-Fremont’s Austin Bartel, but took second by rule over Trevino.

Bryce Zoromski (126), Alex Lorbecke (132) and Jeremy Landowski (170) all went 1-2 after earning byes to place third. Austin Worzalla (113), Chance Lewens (195), Kyle Linke (152) and Gabe Soper (220) all placed fourth, while Max Kersten (120) and Evan Stanislawski (160) both came in fifth.

Urquhart, Potrykus and Uttecht will compete Saturday in the Bonduel Sectional at Shawano Community High School. The top-three finishers in each weight class will advance to the state meet.


Team scores: 1. Weyauwega-Fremont 229; 2. Shiocton 205.5; 3. Manawa 178; 4. Wittenberg-Birnamwood 147; 5. Rosholt 108; 6. Tri-County 73; 7. Almond-Bancroft/Pacelli 44.