VanStraten wins fifth straight title

Swedberg and Yarie also secure titles

Scott Owen Special to the Leader

The final night of racing for the 2018 season saw Travis VanStraten win his fifth consecutive track championship in the IMCA Stock Car class at Shawano Speedway. Former go-kart rivals Brett Swedberg and Marcus Yarie each secured track championships as well.

Joel Bennett won his first Late Model feature of the year. Jerry Wilinski won his second straight IMCA Modified feature, and Dan Michonski won his class-leading fifth IMCA Stock Car feature. Jordan Bartz scored her first IMCA Sport Mod feature win.

Bennett started on the pole position of the Late Model feature and never looked back. Late in the race, Nick Anvelink applied pressure for the lead, but Bennett would not be denied. Anvelink finished second, Ron Berna third, Swedberg fourth and Troy Springborn fifth in the caution-free race.

Swedberg won the track championship, his second in the Late Model division at Shawano. He also won the title in 2016.

Cody Hudson outdueled Mike Fillion for the lead on the opening lap of the IMCA Modified feature. Jerry Wilinski soon moved to second on the track, with Konnor Wilinski moving to third.

Jerry Wilinski pulled to the inside of Hudson on lap 11. The pair fought side by side for the lead over the next four laps. Wilinski finally held the advantage on lap 15.

Jerry Wilinski would lead the rest of the race for the win. Hudson, Yarie, Konnor Wilinski and Lance Arneson rounded out the top five.

With Yarie’s third-place finish, he secured his third track championship at Shawano Speedway. Yarie’s previous titles came in 2014 and 2016.

The IMCA Stock Car feature saw Mike Schmidt take the lead on lap one before Kurt Olson powered to the point on lap two. On lap four though, Tom Riehl went up high to make the pass on Olson for the lead.

Michonski worked his way through traffic to take the lead from Riehl on lap eight after starting the race in 11th. Michonski led the rest of the way, followed by Riehl, VanStraten, Junior Karcz and Asa Doxtator.

VanStraten won the track championship for the fifth year in a row. M.J. McBride is the only other competitor in the track’s 50-plus year history to win five consecutive titles.

Cousins Dustin and Teagan Wudstrack battled for the lead to open the IMCA Sport Mod Feature, with Dustin grabbing the lead. Teagan though would take the lead on lap three, but would only stay there for a lap as Dustin took back the top spot on lap four.

Bartz moved past Teagan on lap five for second and quickly set her sights on Dustin for the lead. On lap seven, she made her move past Dustin and would hold on to the lead for the rest of the race. Jordan Barkholtz, Kyle Raddant, Bryce Clements and Dustin Wudstrack completed the top five.

Lucas Lamberies had wrapped up the track championship a week ago.