Anvelink’s late charge seals victory

Yarie, Michonski, Schmidt, Hacker also win races

Scott Owen Special to the Leader

On the track, Late Model ace Nick Anvelink used a last lap pass to win his fourth feature of the year on Saturday and Shawano Speedway.

Marcus Yarie went wire to wire for a $1,000 payday in the IMCA Modified feature, his second win of the year. Dan Michonski came from ninth to win his second IMCA Stock Car feature in a caution-free affair.

In IMCA Sport Mod action, 15-year-old Jayden Schmidt won his first feature of the year. Schmidt won his first-ever feature a year ago during Racing For a Reason. Mighty Four pilot Lucas Hacker secured his first feature win this season carrying Mitchell’s number 57 on the side of his car instead of his usual 17.

The eighth annual Racing for a Reason once again brought out a huge crowd to Shawano Speedway to raise money for childhood cancer charities. The night was also highlighted by a memorial to honor former track champion Mark Mitchell, who passed away this past winter after a battle with cancer.

Joe Reuter nabbed the lead at the start of the Late Model feature as Troy Springborn followed him in second. As Reuter led, Springborn raced in his tracks and sized him up, looking for a way past. On lap 10, Springborn pulled to the inside of Reuter as the duo went side by side for the lead, with Springborn taking the lead at the start finish line.

After starting seventh, Anvelink sliced and diced his way through the field to second on lap 12. Over the next seven laps, Anvelink continually chipped away at Springborn’s lead. As the white flag waved, Springborn held a three car-length lead over Anvelink, but that advantage quickly disappeared entering turn one for the final time.

Anvelink pulled to the inside of Springborn as they raced door to door out of turn two, down the back stretch, and into turn three. As they exited turn four, Anvelink pulled ahead and won the race to the finish line. Springborn, Ron Berna, Brett Swedberg and Reuter rounded out the top five in the caution-free race.

Yarie utilized his art skills in drawing the pole for the IMCA Modified feature. The two-time track champion and current point leader led all 20 laps of the race for the win. Brekken Kleinschmidt challenged Yarie early, while Lance Arneson and Wyatt Block challenged Yarie late in the race. It was all in vain though as Yarie would not be denied. Yarie was chased across the finish line by Arneson, Block, Jason Czarapata and Mike Mullen.

Pole-sitter Curtis Kroening took the lead at the start of the IMCA Stock Car feature. Kroening was hotly pursued early on by Tom Riehl and Mike Schmidt. Michonski though soon charged his way through the field from ninth to second, utilizing the outside groove of the track. On lap eight, Michonski pulled alongside Kroening. Kroening held off Michonski for two laps, but Michonski would not be denied on lap 10.

Michonski would lead the final ten laps for the win. Riehl came home second in the race. Travis VanStraten, Junior Karcz and Kroening completed the top five.

Third generation racer Jayden Schmidt took the lead to start the IMCA Sport Mod feature and stayed there for 20 laps. A caution after lap 12 bunched up the field behind Schmidt, but he quickly pulled ahead of the rest of the pack. Schmidt was fearless, running with his right rear quarter panel right on the outside concrete barrier. Schmidt scored the win followed by Jordan Barkholtz, Bryce Clements, Lucas Lamberies and Kyle Raddant.

Sporting the number 57 to honor Mitchell, Hacker led every lap of the Mighty Four feature. Brad Nelson got within striking distance of Hacker a few times but could never muster a challenge for the lead. Hacker won the race followed by Nelson, Jeffrey Teske, Brad Wedde and Jason Stueck.

Brian Welch and Andy Smedegard won their respective Spectator Eliminator classes.