Blizzard aid available to Shawano County farmers

The U.S. Department of Agriculture is offering low-interest emergency loans to Wisconsin agricultural producers who lost property in the mid-April blizzard this year.

The USDA’s Farm Service Agency is making these loans available to cover losses caused by snow and high winds to producers in several Wisconsin counties, including Shawano County.

Approval is limited to applicants who suffered severe physical losses only, including the loss of buildings and livestock. The deadline for producers to apply for these loans is Jan. 29.

The disaster designation by the Farm Service Agency administrator means loans are available to producers who live in Shawano County, as well as Barron, Brown, Burnett, Door, Dunn, Fond Du Lac, Green Lake, Jackson, Kewaunee, La Crosse, Marinette, Monroe, Oconto, Outagamie, Polk, Portage, Rusk, Sawyer, Trempealeau, Washburn, Waupaca and Wood counties.

Additionally, eligible farmers who live in counties bordering the disaster counties may also receive loans: Adams, Ashland, Bayfield, Buffalo, Calumet, Chippewa, Clark, Columbia, Dodge, Douglas, Eau Claire, Florence, Forest, Juneau, Langlade, Manitowoc, Marathon, Marquette, Menominee, Pepin, Pierce, Price, St. Croix, Sheboygan, Taylor, Vernon, Washington, Waushara and Winnebago.

For information on loan eligibility and the application process, visit