Big Changes Happening on August 7, 2019.


College of Menominee Nation graduates 39

Contributed Photo Rickie Lee Dodge, of Shawano, graduated from the College of Menominee Nation on Saturday with an associate’s degree in business administration.

Residents of 13 Wisconsin communities, including members of seven American Indian tribes, received academic degrees and technical diplomas in College of Menominee Nation ceremonies Saturday in Keshena.

This year, the college invited Douglas Cox, tribal chairman from Keshena, to present the guest address to graduates. Baccalaureate degree graduate Sabrina Hemken, of Gillett, spoke on behalf of the Class of 2018.

The ceremonies also honored Professor Vicki Besaw, who was named the American Indian College Fund Faculty Member of the Year. Besaw, who teaches humanities and liberal studies courses, holds a Bachelor of Science in Education from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Master of Arts in English from UW-Milwaukee and is accepted for the First Nations Education Doctoral Program at UW-Green Bay. She is a member of the Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwe. A resident of Shawano, she has served on the CMN faculty since 2006.

Participating in graduation ceremonies with other dignitaries were Dr. Paul Trebian, recently appointed college president, and Michael Delabreau of the board of trustees.

The graduates, listed by major and hometown with academic honors noted, are:

Bachelor of Arts

Public Administration: Sabrina L. Hemken, honors, Gillett; Joyce Wayka, Keshena; and Jerilyn Marie Johnson, Bowler. Hemken also received an associate degree in digital media during the ceremonies.

Bachelor of Science

Business Administration: Louise M. Madosh, Keshena.

Early/Middle Childhood Education: Whitney K. Nitzske, high honors, Shawano.

Associate of Applied Science

Nursing: Rachel E. Huested, Wrightstown.

Pre-Environmental Engineering Technology: Travis James Spice, Bowler.

Associate of Arts and Sciences

Business Administration: Kode-Ray C. Adams, high honors, Gresham; Marla Bellanger, Keshena; Rickie Lee Dodge, Shawano; Christa L. Lyons, Keshena; Dulce Maria Moeller, Shawano; Adam Joseph Schulz, honors, Shawano; David Skenandore, honors, Oneida; and Francis K. Skenandore, Suamico.

Early Childhood Education: Melinda R. Cree, Keshena; Leona A. Draghi, Keshena; Kasey Leigh Paiser, Waupaca; Theresa L. Smith, honors, Oneida; and Jordynne Nicolle Waupekenay, Shawano.

Liberal Studies – Humanities: Georgie D. Potts, honors, Keshena.

Liberal Studies – Social Science: Rhiannon M. Boyd, Oneida; Ravena M. Fowler, Cecil; Dallas M. Hawkins, Green Bay; Zachary John Skenandore, Green Bay; and Zachary Michael Wolterman, honors, Shawano.

Natural Resources: Lenayea R. Boyd, Gillett; Lacy Lee Dixon, Keshena; Zachary David Dobberstein, Shawano; Jamie L. Funmaker, Wittenberg; Denise A. Kasparzak, Keshena; and Catherine Ann Majer, Gresham.

Technical Diploma

Business Office Technician: Brittney J. Pamonicutt and Deneane Marie Wilber, both Keshena.

Electricity: James M. Cox and William Richard Waubananascum IV, both Keshena.

Welding: Anthony Dale Chevalier, high honors, Keshena; Brian Rashaun Waukau, Keshena; and Austin William Kaquatosh, honors, Suring. Waukau, also a 2018 Menominee Indian High School graduate, is the first person to earn a CMN technical diploma while simultaneously completing high school.

Thirty-two of the 39 graduates are enrolled members or descendants of American Indian tribes. Represented in this year’s class are Brotherton, Ho Chunk, Menominee, Oneida, Prairie Band of Potawatomi, Stockbridge, Stockbridge-Munsee and Turtle Mountain Chippewa.

The College of Menominee Nation is one of 37 federally recognized tribal colleges in the United States. The baccalaureate-degree institution with campuses in Keshena and Green Bay has awarded nearly 1,180 academic degrees and technical diplomas since opening in 1993.