Bay, CWC announce all-conference honorees


Here’s a look at the 2017 fall sports all-conference selections announced so far.


Bay Conference

Shawano Community High School

Senior Dakota Maltbey was unanimously selected to the all-conference first team on offense and named the offensive lineman of the yea.

“Making first team was a goal that I set at the beginning of the season,” Maltbey said. “It’s nice to see all of my hard work in the offseason paid off and to know that what I did on the field didn’t go unnoticed, because it took a lot of work to get to where I am now.”

Senior outside linebacker Seth Sousek was selected to the first team on defense.

“It feels great getting recognized by other coaches in the conference for the hard work that I’ve put in the past four years,” Sousek said. “It was my goal this year to get first team so it feels great to achieve that.”

Junior running back Roman Purull was selected to the second team on offense.

Senior defensive lineman Chase Schmidt and junior defensive back Steven Hoffmann made the second team.

Honorable mentions include sophomore wide receiver Brayden Dickelman and senior offensive lineman Casey Baumann.

Central Wisconsin Conference-Large

Bonduel High School

All-conference first-team offense selections include senior running back Eli Mastey, junior wide receiver Isaac Garside and senior offensive lineman Colin Wussow.

Mastey also clinched a spot on the first-team defense as a linebacker.

Senior offensive lineman Bryce Maule and junior quarterback Parker Bohm made the second team on offense.

Second-team defense honorees include senior defensive back Jordan Boldt, senior defensive lineman Jack Jiskra, senior defensive lineman Colin Wussow and junior linebacker Isaac Garside.

Honorable mentions include senior offensive linemen Dalton Cairns and Lucas Nolan, senior running back Jordan Boldt, junior tight end Collin Hanus, sophomore defensive back Isaac Boldt and junior linebacker Jacob Giese.

Wittenberg-Birnamwood High School

Senior Keegan Delforge was named to the all-conference first team as a defensive lineman and second team as an offensive lineman.

“It feels great to be recognized as one of the best at my position in the conference,” Delforge said. “It’s been my goal all year to get first team after falling short and getting second team sophomore year and honorable mention last year.”

Other second-team offense selections include junior running back Jack Stewart and senior tight end Cory Frazza.

Frazza also was named to the second-team defense as a linebacker.

Honorable mentions include senior offensive lineman Ian Zienart, senior running back, linebacker and punter Dalton Zeinert, and senior defensive backs Matt Kapitz and Gavin Scheurer.


Bay Conference

Shawano Community High School

Senior Averi Vomastic was unanimously selected as co-player of the year and to the first team.

“It’s an absolute honor to be selected with my teammates,” Vomastic said. “We worked so hard and so well together and to share the honor together is really special. Getting co-player of the year was a huge surprise, and I’m very humbled that the conference saw me as one of the best.”

Juniors Julia Klement and Bayleigh Laabs also clinched first-team honors.

Sophomore Kyra Klement made all-conference second team, and senior Brandi Gueths received honorable mention.

Central Wisconsin Conference-East

Bonduel High School

Senior Brynn Reinke represents the Bears on the all-conference first team.

“This year I set out to be the best that I could be and help my team win games any way I could,” she said. “I’m honored that the conference coaches felt that I was deserving of first team. I couldn’t have been a successful setter without having good hitters and back-row players on my team.”

Junior McKenzie Wollenberg secured second-team honors, and junior Grace Petcka received honorable mention.

Wittenberg-Birnamwood High School

Sophomores Marissa Groshek and Elizabeth Muscha were named to the all-conference first team.

“Getting first team was like nothing I’ve ever felt before,” Groshek said. “It was something I’ve worked my whole life for, and I’m so glad that I got the experience. It sort of caught me by surprise because I was so much younger than all of them. I’m so thankful for my team to back me up and support me in this honor. They are the reason all of this was possible.”

“I am very thankful that I was able to be recognized as a player this year,” Muscha said. “It definitely caught me by surprise because I am new on the varsity court, but I did my best to work hard and be a leader on the court. I want to thank my teammates because they pushed me every day in practice to make me the player I am today.”

Freshman Abi Fraaza made second team.

Menominee Indian High School

Senior Jalen Corn received honorable mention.

Central Wisconsin Conference-North

Gresham High School

Senior Dani Huntington was voted player of the year and selected to the all-conference first team.

“It’s such an honor to be chosen from all the other coaches it means a lot to me,” she said. “I’ve worked so hard to get up to this point in my volleyball career. I couldn’t have accomplished this without my great teammates and all of the coaches I’ve had over the years.”

Senior Hailey Hoffman also secured first-team honors.

“I’m honestly very surprised they picked me,” she said. “I don’t really think about my personal accomplishments on the court because it’s such a team game, so it caught me off guard when I found out. But I feel so humbled and happy that they chose me.”

Seniors Kamille Davids and Mackenzie Hoffman secured second-team honors, and sophomore Karisa Nietzer received honorable mention.

Tigerton High School

Junior Monika Minniecheske made the all-conference first team.

Juniors Kelsi Shumaker and Jaidan Miller received honorable mention.


Bay Conference

Shawano Community High School

Sophomore forward Michael Klement made the all-conference second team. Junior goalie Will Bergner received honorable mention.


Bay Conference

Shawano Community High School

All-conference first-team selections include senior Chase Lhotka and freshman Lydia Beyer.

Second-team selections include freshman Ethan Chelberg, sophomore Karsten Anderson and freshman Joseph Mente.

Honorable mentions include sophomore Ben Carroll, sophomore Johnny Dillenburg and junior Alice Hoffmann.


Bay Conference

Shawano Community High School

Seniors Brianna Zook and Brinley Kowalkowski secured all-conference first-team honors. Junior Kennedy Klemens made honorable mention.

Bonduel High School

Junior Jessie LaBerge was named to the all-conference second team. Senior Mariah Diemel received honorable mention.