CMN awards degrees, diplomas to 80

Contributed Photo College of Menominee Nation’s spring graduating class included, front, from left, Melinda Cook, of Shawano, Lloyd Rieson Jr., of Keshena, and Sally Hill, of Seymour. Cook and Frieson received Bachelor of Arts degrees in public administration, and Hill received a Bachelor of Science degree in business administration.

Residents of 26 Wisconsin communities, including members of nine American Indian tribes, received academic degrees and technical diplomas in College of Menominee Nation ceremonies Saturday in Keshena.

Retired founding President S. Verna Fowler presented the guest address, and baccalaureate degree graduate, Lloyd J. Frieson Jr. spoke on behalf of the Class of 2017. Both reside in Keshena.

Saturday ceremonies also honored Dennis Vickers, who was named the American Indian College Fund Faculty Member of the Year. Vickers, who teaches in the college’s humanities program, holds philosophy degrees from the University of Texas (Ph.D.), Bowling Green University (master’s), and University of Wyoming (bachelor’s). A resident of White Lake, he has served on the CMN faculty since 2006.

Here are the graduates:

Bachelor of Arts

Public Administration: Melinda L. Cook, high honors, Shawano, and Lloyd J. Frieson Jr., Keshena.

Bachelor of Science

Business Administration: Sally Florence Hill, honors, Seymour, and George V. Otradovec, honors, Suring.

Early Childhood/Middle Childhood Education: Lucille Rosemary Burr, honors, Bowler, and Benjamin R. Smith, high honors, Gresham.

Associate of Applied Science

Nursing: Christine Ann Van Dahm, Appleton; Sally Ellen Kauth and Sara M. Krueger, Clintonville; Cassie Lynn Petersen, honors, De Pere; Pamela J. Sporleder, Gillett; Liza DeCora and Ashley A. Tomschin, Green Bay; Audra Elizabeth Demmith, Mountain; Laura Reis, Seymour; and Jill Seefeldt, Wild Rose.

Pre-Engineering Technology: Sarah Brei, Gresham, and Chelsey Alane LaTender, Keshena.

Associate of Arts and Sciences

Accounting: Cassandra Lynn Simono, Gillett; Brady Ann Moreno and Brian Lee Moreno, Green Bay; ChristaLee Ann Waupoose, honors, Keshena; and Linda Sue Kaquatosh, Shawano. Biological and Physical Sciences: Mia Sue Haberl, Shawano.

Business Administration: Tyrone Joseph Barber, De Pere; Kayeloni Raye Heczko, honors, Dylana Kay Kinepoway, honors, Frances Joy Reiter, high honors, and Rayna Ann Tucker, all Keshena; and Alicia J. Mraz, honors, and Kayla Rusch, Shawano.

Computer Science: Randi R. Grant, Bowler.

Early Childhood Education: Nikole L. Webster, Bowler; Carol A. Red Kettle and JayCee Rae Tourtillott, Keshena; Chantel Lynne’ McLeod, honors, Oconto; Jessica Lynn Close, Oneida; and Sara Jean Esch, Shawano.

Liberal Studies – Humanities: Melissa K. Besaw, Shawano.

Liberal Studies – Social Science: Gary M. Adams Jr., Jennifer Lynn Barnes, Louis Scott Cottrell, Jamie F. Komanekin, Sheila Margaret Shawanokasic and Kyle Joseph Witt, all Green Bay; Courtney Nichole Behrendt, Jackson; Brittany Alice Hawpetoss, Keshena; and Barbara Marie Johnson, high honors, and Kelli Penfold, Shawano.

Natural Resources: Adam Joseph Schulz, honors, Bowler; Alex J. Adamski, Kaylee Jean Houle, and Eric Nacotee, Shawano; and Jamie L. Funmaker, Wittenberg.

Technical Diploma

Business Office Technician: Virgil S. Stevens, honors, De Pere; Lisa Marie Annamitta, Green Bay; and Rachel D. Corn, high honors, Keshena.

Electricity: Mequan Corn Sr.; Corey J. Dixon Jr. and Chance LaTender, Keshena; and

Justin J. Kriefall, high honors, Leopolis.

Practical Nursing: Laura R. Banuelos, Abrams; Odessa Lynn Clay, high honors, Bryant; Dylan Schroeder, Clintonville; Chelsea R. Kratky, De Pere; Matthew G. Safranski, honors, and Shellie Germaine Berg, Green Bay; Ka Zoua K. Moua, Menasha; Ellie M. Van Riper, honors, New London; Catrina Ann Bhatty, Oneida; Elaine Jo Rusch, honors, Pulaski; Jerilyn Ann Shooter, Shawano; Lori Jean Nieves, honors, Shiocton; and Susan Leurquin, Suring.

Sustainable Residential Building Systems: Michael W. Matchopatow, Keshena.

Welding: Asa V. Doxtator, Bowler; Tyler Hoffman, honors, Clintonville; Bernard G. Doud III, Neopit; David Bruce Pyatskowit, highest honors, Shawano; and Nicholas James Doud, honors, Wabeno.

Forty-seven of the 80 graduates are enrolled members or descendants of American Indian tribes. Represented in this year’s class are Chippewa, Comanche, Ho-Chunk, Lac Courtes Oreille Ojibwa, Menominee, Mohican, Oneida, Standing Rock Sioux and Stockbridge-Munsee.